Senior Staff and Governors

Governor List

Mr David R Woodgate BSc MBA (Chair)                                       Finance & Banking

Dr Penelope Atkinson MBChB, MRCGP, Dip SEM (Vice-Chair)  Medical

Mr Chris J Robinson MA                                                                 Writer & Historian

Mrs Rebecca Hattersley BA (Hons)                                                 Business and Land Management

Professor David Huntley BA, MA, PhD                                          Academic

Mr Peter H Lowson FCA                                                                 Finance & Accounting

Mrs Alison Mills ACIS, MCIPD                                                     Human Resources

Mrs Clare Magill BSc Econ                                                            Legal

Professor Peter Shears BA, LL.B, LL.M                                       Professor of Consumer

                                                                                                        Law and Policy

Mr Charlie P. Thomson  BSc, FCA                                                Accountant

Dr Susan Thorpe                                                                             Medical


Staff List


HEADMASTER - Mr J P Standen BA Nottingham NPQH

DEPUTY HEADMrs J E Hayward MA Downing College Cambridge

ASSISTANT HEAD - Mr C S Irish BSc Birmingham



Year 7               Mr Palmer

Year 8               Mrs Wilden

Year 9               Mr Summons

Year 10              Mr Hawken

Year 11              Mr Gregory

Sixth Form          Mr Carr   

                        Mrs Savage



Miss P J Anderson MA Emmanuel College Cambridge (Head of Classics)

Mr R Armayan (Director of Swimming)

Mrs J E Ashenbury BEd Reading (Head of Drame)

Miss N K Baker BA Exeter MA Exeter (Head of History)

Miss M Becker Diplom-Ingenieur, University of Applied Sciences, Berlin (Head of German)

Mr M Bell (Assistant Director of Swimming)

Mr M G Bennett BA Exeter

Miss A C Blunden BA Exeter

Mr K C Boots BA Wales MEd Exeter AMBDA

Mrs P M Brockbank Cert Ed (Head of EAL)

Dr J L Burns BSc Oxford Brookes DPhil Oxford

Mr M Byrne BSc Loughborough (Director of Cricket)

Mr A R Carr MA St Andrews (Head of Sixth Form, Senior Careers & UCAS Adviser)

Mr R Chapman BEd College of St Mark & St John

Mr Chris Chilcott (OED Tutor)

Mrs A-L Chubb BA Wolverhampton

Mrs L E S Clark BA Open

Mrs R L Connor BA Nottingham

Miss S Currie BA Stirling (Head of English)

Mr R L Edwards BA University of Wales (Director of Rugby)

Mrs S Fisher

Mrs N E Glasgow  BA Aberystwyth

Dr A Green BA Exeter

Mrs A E Green BSc Nottingham

Mr D Green BA Dartington College of Arts (Director of Music & Performing Arts)

Mr J P Gregory BA Birmingham (Head of Economics & Business Studies)

P J Grey BSc Open AMInstP (Head of Science Faculty; Head of Physics; Head of Academic Progress and Monitoring)

Mr C J Hambly BSc Manchester (Head of Chemistry)

Mr D R Hawken PGdip, BMus(Hons), PGCE, dipABRSM Royal Welsh College of Music & Drama (Head of Year 10)

Dr A Hawker BSc Plymouth PhD

Ms J Herod BA Nottingham, MSc East London (Head of LDD/ Educational Psychologist)

Mrs C Herroro-Shaw BA Middlesex

Miss N S L Husband BA Queen Margaret

Mr M Janca (Director of Modern Pentathlon & Fencing)

D A Jones BSc Birmingham (Head of Mathematics)

Dr S Jordan PhD Dundee (Head of Biology)

Mrs N Lilley BA Nottingham Trent

Mr G J Llewellyn-Rees BEng Brunel, MEng Heriot Watt, MBA Imperial College

Mr A N Longden BSc Plymouth 

Mr P Maddaford BA University of St Mark & St John

Mr D J Martin BA Warwick (Head of Religious Studies)

Mrs P M Martin BA Southampton

Dr A Miller BSc PhD Bristol CChem MRSC CPhys MinstP (Head of IT)

Mr P M Mutlow BA Durham (Director of Sport)

Mr C G Nicol Duncan of Jordanstone College of Art, Diploma (Head of Art & Photography)

Dr A Norris BSc Liverpool PhD

Miss L M Odendaal BA Stellenbosch

Mrs H J Owen BA College of St Mark & St John

Mrs N J Paice BA College of St Mark & St John  (Head of Geography)

Mr R G Palmer BA College of St Mark & St John (Head of Year 7)

Mrs M Paton  Maitrise d’Anglais, Université de Bretagne Occidentale

Mr R J Prichard MA London

Mr D P Prideaux BSc Bristol

Mr P J Randall BA Oxford Brookes (Head of French & Spanish)

D J Roberts MA Northumbria BA Leeds

Mr O Rees (OED Manager)

Miss L M Russo MSci Imperial College

Mrs A Savage BSc Exeter (Head of Psychology)

Miss C P Sherratt BSc Plymouth 

Mrs T K Shields MSc Leeds

Mrs L E Smith BSc Exeter

Mrs S Sullivan BA Glasgow School of Art

Mr A G Summons BSc MSc Exeter (Head of Year 9)

Dr C Taylor BSc Bath, PhD.Bath

Mr J Thomas  BEd Exeter

Mrs Z P Thurston BSc Exeter

Mr M P Tippetts BA Exeter (Head of Boarding)

Miss E D Tremaine BEd De Montfort (Head of PE)

Miss F Venon Licence D’Anglais Universitie de St Etienne Maitrise

Mr M P Wesley BSc Nottingham Trent  (Head of Design Technology)

Mrs V J Willden BA Plymouth  (Head of

Miss E Williams BA Greenwich

Mrs E Wright BA University College London

R P Wilson BEng University

Support Staff


Mrs S Wills MEng


Mr J Friendship BSc MBA


Mr N Bishop

Mrs S Addyman (Boarding)

Mrs M Adlington (School Shop Manager)

Mr J Barton (Maintenance)

Mr S Beal (Sports Hall)

Mr P Bennett (Gardens)

Mr T Bennett (Gardens)

Mr C Bryant (Maintenance Manager)

Mrs N Byrne (House Parent – Mannamead)

Mrs K Clarke (Dep & Assit Head’s Assistant)

Mr M Cooke (Night Porter)

Mrs K Dent (Netball)

Miss H Duff (Assistant Exams Officer)

Ms K Dunford (Catering Manager)

Mrs N Farley (Receptionist)

Mrs A Floyd (Accounts)

Mrs E Ford (Bag Store Manager)

Mr N Ford (Porter)

Mr R Gayton (Head Porter)

Mrs RM Gilbert (Technician - Chemistry)

Mr C Gilbery (Sports Hall)

Mr K Hall (Sports Hall Manager)

Mr M Hands (Curriculum Systems Manager)

Mrs F Harvey (Registrar)

Mrs R Harvey (Exams Officer)

Mrs E Holden (Technician – Biology)

Mrs S Lambie (Headmaster’s PA)

Mrs N Lane (School Nurse)

Mr P Lewis (CCF)

Ms E Lynas (School Nurse)

Mrs R May (Technician – Art)

Miss K Menday (Accounts)

Mr J Moate (IT & Systems Manager)

Mrs T Normington (Director of Swimming’s Assistant)

Miss C Osideko (Boarding)

Mrs S Perkins (Accounts)

Miss K Pillage (Pentathlon)

Mrs S Quinn (House Parent – Captains)

Mr J Searle (Technician – Physics)

Mrs N Shaw (Domestic Services Manager)

Miss C Smith (Boarding)

Mr G Smith (Porter)

Mrs N Smith (Library)

Mr M Stacey (House Parent – Captains)

Mr M Sumner (Reprographics)

Mrs J Squire (Day Matron – Captains House)

Mrs M Tippetts (Assistant Head of Boarding)

Mr R Thompson (Maintenance)

Mr J Thorburn (Night Porter)

Mr R Tuckwell (Driver)

Miss H Beard (Accounts)

Mr D Waddingham (Strength & Conditioning)

Mr A Watson (Maintenance)

Mr L Whear (Sports Hall)

Miss A Wellington (SIMS Secretary

back to top